comfrey becoming a weed

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by nicole, Oct 16, 2006.

1. nicole

nicole Junior Member

I have finally decided to stop lurking and join this discussion board :)

I'm pretty new at thinking about permaculture, but am becoming more and more inspired, and the garden is taking off. But one question that I keep wondering about is if I plant something like comfrey will it become a weed? I've been told that comfrey is almost impossible to get rid of once established.

I want to plant comfrey because it seems to be a brilliant useful plant, but it makes me think more broadly like will things that are planted as part of permaculture systems turn into weeds, not just within the garden, but potentially in bushland?

2. gardenlen

gardenlen Group for banned users

g'day nicole,

i don't realy aspire to gardeners using permaculture principals as creating invironmental weeds. the plants we use are already there in the system for the most part, so they where created by some other sector.

yes comfry in the righ conditions is going to get rampant, if you want to grow it put it in a dedicated spot . it can be very difficult to get rid of but not that impossible, we found that in drier sandier conditions it struggled to grow and in those same conditions we lost a fair bit to frosts.

but in the lusher heavier soils yes it grows madly on but i did get rid of it by carefully digging as much of it out as i could then each day as a new leaf popped up i pulled it out took a couple of season but got rid of it.

len

3. Jez

Jez Junior Member

G'day Nicole,

Welcome to the forum and good on you for joining in the discussion.

Yep, as Len said depending on soil type and the amount of water it gets, comfrey can get a little out of control, but unlike many plants it's not really a problem of seeding, more a problem of popping up from the roots to extend its domain.